April 14 to 20, 2024

Hello and welcome! I feel that I complain about the weather incessantly, but it is still cold here, and it rains every day. Though there are moments of sunshine, I am anxiously awaiting warmer temperatures. 

Now let’s get to the photos:

April 14 – Sunday Coffee Series

Good morning. I had an early morning coffee on this dark and dreary day. The temperature is very damp, 9C/47F, and it is beginning to rain. It is a busy morning for us, and I am enjoying my Starbucks Virginia mug and hoping the sun will come out eventually. 

I wish you a great Sunday with the ones you love.

April 14 – hair

This is my favourite photo from our trip to Kauai with our Aunt, her hair blowing in the Pacific breeze. We were having a fantastic time on a sunset cruise up the Napali Coast.

April 15 – what’s missing

This playground has been a part of our community since we came to ‘the county’, but it remains empty today due to the rain, however, I have never seen children playing here. How unusual and sad.

April 16 – say cheese

This is not precisely the response the prompt intended, but it is about cheese & I’d like to share a local historical site, the Black River Cheese Company, situated on the shores of Black River. While the company changed ownership a few years ago, they no longer produce cheese at this location. Nonetheless, an adorable store on-site sells various cheese and other goodies, including an ice cream counter!

April 17 – a spiral

Mother Nature has perfected the spiral, as seen in the seashells I’ve collected over the past several years.

April 18 – interesting texture

I love how the slightest breeze over the water transforms the smooth surface into many textures.

April 19 – bokeh

I find seagulls fascinating to observe. They each have their own unique personalities! This seagull appeared to be doing morning yoga as the breeze ruffled its feathers. As I focused on the bird, the rest of the scene appeared blurred out; the sunlight reflecting on the water in the distance and the morning dew on the grass in front created a beautiful bokeh effect.

April 20 – fill the frame

It’s still early spring, and the leaves haven’t started to grow yet. As a result, we can see things usually hidden behind the foliage, such as this wasp’s nest hanging above the road (It is the size of a basketball). The winter weather has taken its toll on it, but seeing its usually hidden parts is interesting!

The weather will remain cool next week, but a warming trend will likely follow, at least that is my fervent hope. How is the weather in your ‘neck of the woods?’

Thanks for visiting, Connie 🙂

4 thoughts on “April 14 to 20, 2024

  1. Excellent week Connie love the shot of your smiley Aunt, nice memory of her. What a shame the playground is not used, all the kids indoors with computer games? I’d be straight into the cheese shop! sad they don’t make it anymore.Lovely shells (I have a few similar) and the textures on the watr are lovely. I do like seagulls that’s a nice shot of one. The wasp nest is most excellent of all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Precious photo of you Aunt, Connie! I love cheese! If that business was still producing, I would be there everyday if I could! I really like the closeup of the wasp’s nest, too. The engineering of these critters is fascinating! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.