April 21 to 27, 2024

Hello and welcome! It was a cold, wet week, but the sun was finally out, and now, I anxiously anticipate the warmer weather.

Let’s get to the photos:

April 21 – Sunday Coffee Series

Good morning! It’s an overcast morning and quite chilly outside at just 4°C/40°F. I thoroughly enjoyed my hot coffee today, drinking from my favourite white Starbucks mug. This mug is the one that started this endeavour. As I step out onto the porch, I can hear the beautiful birdsong and see the robins already busy building their nests. It’s an excellent way to start the day!

I wish you all a great Sunday with the ones you love.

Go make stuff today: Make coffee; Make a ruckus; Make a difference; Make a memory; Make time for someone or something you love; The world needs makers!

Nanea Hoffman

I was playing with a ‘tin-type’ filter, testing for another project and liked this second photo of my morning coffee, too!

April 21 – buzz

It is still quite chilly here, and I have yet to spot any flying or buzzing creatures in my garden. However, I encountered a giant bee in the ‘pollinator garden’ next to the art gallery at Base 31. It was an incredible sight to behold!

April 22 – small toy in the real world

The Rubber Ducky Family, led by their protective Mama Duck, has entered the real world. They are now perched on the rocks near the driveway, enjoying the warmth of the sunlight and the stream’s beauty below. With a gentle yet firm voice, Mama Duck is cautioning her little ones to be careful and avoid the stream’s edge. She reminds them that the stream could lead them all the way to Lake Ontario, and they might even encounter some waterfalls on the way, a journey they have yet to be ready for.

April 23 – contours

I went to Sandbanks Park and the dunes today to search for contours. The winter winds have shaped the sand into new and exciting forms. It’s hard to estimate, but the sand on the path is almost 5 feet deep. I’m captivated by the patterns on the sand, which mimic the clouds.

April 24 – dreaded

Fortunately, my husband enjoys and does most of the grocery shopping since it is my most dreaded task. However, when the farm stands open and fresh produce is available, I am happy to go shopping, especially for fresh fruits and vegetables.

April 25 – woodland scene

I walk daily, and today, a cheerful cardinal* joined me. I heard it chirping long before I spotted him. The cardinal was my mom’s favourite bird, and she enticed them to her bird feeder. Their visits and antics brought her much joy. I like to think that my mom was with me today!

*Legend says that when a cardinal visits, it is a loved one stopping by from Heaven to let you know that you are not alone and that they are never far away. Cardinals are beautiful creatures; in every culture, they have a positive meaning behind their visits.

(This photo was created with the Unfold App; I include the original photos for you as well.)

April 26 – a nose

On a stormy day, a sailboat’s nose (bow) points to the bay, anxiously awaiting the warmer season. The marina awaits the return of the docks, and the boat slips into the water. As spring approaches, I imagine the adventures the sailboat will have exploring the waterways, near and far.

April 27 – Picture Me (optical illusion)

It’s “Picture Me” day! This is the day you include yourself or a part of yourself in the photograph. 

The sun finally came out, and I took a picture of my ‘shadow self,’ superimposing it onto palm trees from last year’s vacation in the background, giving the illusion of being in a tropical location. I wish I could be somewhere warmer right now.

(original photos also attached below)

The weather forecast promises warmer weather; I am so happy about it. I wish you a great week in advance, too! 

Thanks for visiting, Connie 🙂

4 thoughts on “April 21 to 27, 2024

  1. A sterling week Connie. The tin type is cool, is that for the hispamatic challenge? Love that mad colourful bee statue, the ducks are so cute and the dunes composition excellent. That market is amazing, never seen one so huge! The cardinal is a beauty of a bird, wish we had them here, and your selfie is awesome. My absolute favourite is the sailing ship looking out to sea, I’d like to be on that! Fingers crossed for the warm weather to come!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have a good eye, yes I submitted a couple of tin types to the Hipstamatic challenge. Many of the markets here are large. (Just like in the U.S.). 😉 Wouldn’t it be great just to sail around the globe, seeing sights? …and far away friends!!! 👋🏻

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.