Saying goodbye…

This week we said our final goodbye to our dear Aunt M. 

She was, in fact, my husband’s aunt, but over the years, she became my travelling partner, confidante, and, most of all, my dear friend. She was there for me when my mom passed, and I held her when her beloved husband passed. She was kind, supportive & generous, but she also had a forthright personality and always told you exactly what she was thinking. 

“Those we love don’t go away, they walk beside us everyday. Unseen, unheard, but always near, so loved, so missed, so very dear.”

We often travelled together to Florida, Kauai, Dresden, and on many shorter trips for shopping, leaf-peeping, and sightseeing. She loved nature (especially sunsets), good food, and shopping. She enjoyed sharing places and experiences that she loved and was always ready for an adventure. 

This past weekend, we scattered her ashes, according to her wishes, beside her late husband. I like to think they are reunited again! 

I will always see Aunt M in every field of sunflowers and poppies (her favourites), every sunset, and every time I enjoy a glass of red wine. She may be gone, but she will never be forgotten.

“Grief is the last act of love we have to give to those we love. Where there is deep grief, there was great love.”

Thanks for the memories!

Love, Connie xo

9 thoughts on “Saying goodbye…

  1. I’m behind on my emails and just came across this one.  My sincerest
    condolences to you and your husband on the loss of Aunt M.  She sounded
    like she was an amazing person!  The two verses in your email are so
    very true and I’m sure Aunt M will be walking beside you.  You are in my
    heart and thoughts.

    Hugs!
    Sherry

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.