April 7 to 13, 2024

Hello and welcome! Spring is slowly arriving here, but it has been raining a lot. There is a saying: “April Showers bring May Flowers.” I’m going to go with that and keep bringing my umbrella. The rain may be a bit of a nuisance, but it also brings a sense of freshness and renewal, which is perfect for the season. 

Let’s get to the photos:

April 7 – Sunday Coffee Series

Good morning. Isn’t this sunshine a delightful change? (though it didn’t last long, I’m grateful for the glimpse.) It’s currently 5C/41F. The cheerful chatter of the birds outside adds to the cozy atmosphere. Today, I’m sipping my coffee from my Starbucks Tampa Bay mug, reminiscing about our wonderful times there. It’s a perfect day to enjoy the outdoors! What are your plans for today?

“Woke to a new spring growing louder and louder. A morning full of light. A sky full of birds. A head full of dreams. A heart full of hope. Beyond the door, the road beckons. The sun will carry us.”

Victoria Erickson

April 7 – April Showers

We had lots of showers last week, most of which included wet snow. Here are a couple of shots taken through my window. Thankfully, the sun is finally shining here today!

April 8 – sidelight

I didn’t have to go far this morning to find beautiful light. It perfectly illuminated a vase on the counter.

April 9 – kitchen art

Barbecue season is almost here! My husband is really looking forward to it – it’s his favourite thing! As a joke, I got him this sign to hang in the gazebo, but it ended up in the kitchen instead. While dusting, I placed it on the stovetop and realized it looked pretty cool with the reflections!

April 10 – embrace

[embrace | əmˈbrās | verb – hold (someone) closely in one’s arms, especially as a sign of affection.]

After his foot surgery, Teddy received a comforting embrace from Mr. Sock Monkey. We all need a hug sometimes.

“Being able to give someone a hug from the heart, it’s healing. It’s healing for yourself and healing for others, and we need a lot of that.”

Seen in a local flower shop

April 11 – bowl & water

“Today is a day to flex your creative muscle. You are challenged to take a photo of a bowl and water and then “something else.” It can be anything else and any technique. Let’s see what you come up with!”

It’s raining outside again today, so I added some bright rubber ducks to my bowl of water! I can’t help but smile when I see them, and they remind me of the Rubber Ducky song. 🎶Rubber Ducky, you’re the one…🎶

April 12 – center

I have placed the car, my main subject, in the center of the photo. This draws your eye into the image, to the car and beyond the rail bridge.

April 13 – old wood

This building was Camp Picton’s hospital in the 1940s, and it is in quite a state of disrepair. How long will it stay standing? The hospital was a significant part of the camp’s history, and it’s sad to see it in this condition. I hope it can be preserved so future generations can learn about the camp’s role in World War II.

*Camp Picton, or No. 31 Bombing and Gunnery School, formerly Loch Sloy Business Park and currently Base 31, was one of 151 British Commonwealth Air Training Plan (BCATP) schools established across Canada between 1940 and 1945.


The long-range weather forecast promises better weather next week; I look forward to it, but I won’t be disappointed if it rains again! 

What is on your agenda this week? I’d love to hear about your plans and maybe get some inspiration for my own week!

Thanks for visiting, Connie 🙂

3 thoughts on “April 7 to 13, 2024

  1. Another great week Connie, always like to see Mr.Sockmonkey and the three ducks make me smile. The old wood is so cool, all that texture, would be nice to see it restored. Fingers crossed we get less rain and more sunshine soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.