March 31 to April 6, 2024

Hello and welcome! Spring is taking its time arriving in my neck of the woods. We had a week of cold, rain and even more snow; I am impatient to finally put away all the winter clothes & boots. The long-range weather forecast is promising warmer weather – my fingers are crossed!

Let’s get to the photos:

March 31 – Sunday Coffee Series

Good morning, and Happy Easter! It was 1°C/34°F, and the sun was shining, so it was a perfect day. I discovered some Easter eggs and chocolates on my porch rail, which I plan to enjoy with my coffee, served in my Starbucks South Carolina Mug. I have also prepared a loaf of bread that is currently rising, which we’ll have for dinner tonight. I wish all my Sunday Coffee friends a wonderful Easter Sunday!

“The very first Easter taught us this: that life never ends and love never dies.”

Kate McGahan

March 31 – Easter

Happy Easter, everyone! The sun is shining; the Easter bunny left some cute treats too! 🐣 

“Easter is a time to remember that even in the darkest moments of life, there is always hope for a brighter tomorrow.”

Unknown

April 1 – humorous

It’s April Fool’s Day! Mr. Sock Monkey is at it again, but I caught him in the act – adding salt to the sugar bowl! Very naughty!

April 2 – movie scene

“Today we are going to shoot a picture of something that looks like it came out of movie! It can be a scene from an actual movie or you can create a photographic story yourself that appears as if it is a cinematic image.”

I have chosen ‘The Shawshank Redemption,’ for today’s movie scene, which is the story of a man who is wrongly accused of murder and develops a friendship with another inmate while seeking redemption. 

This is the gaol yard at the Picton County Courthouse, a Greek Revival-style building built in 1832 (second photo). Sir John A. MacDonald, later a “Father of Confederation” and Canada’s first prime minister, practised in this courtroom. It is also the location of two tragic court cases with ‘grave doubt’ of guilt. It’s an interesting story and you can read about it here

April 3 – a leaf

I recently got a new houseplant called a Prayer Plant (maranta leuconeura). I was captivated by its beautiful leaf. What’s fascinating about it is that the leaves fold up at night, as if it’s praying (which is why it’s called that), and new leaves emerge as a rolled tube. Additionally, it’s an excellent natural air purifier!

April 4 – favourite colour

It is a dark, rainy day with the odd snow flurry thrown in for good measure. I went to the garden centre to get into a spring mood & found this gorgeous pink orchid, so today, my favourite colour is pink.

April 5 – my world

Every 5th of the month, I take a picture of this spot down my road to observe how the seasons change throughout the year. Today, the weather is overcast with a temperature of 0°C/34°F. Although it snowed yesterday, the rainfall in the afternoon washed it away.

I am looking forward to warmer weather; I hope it arrives soon!

April 6 – prompt free

I enjoy exploring the areas around my home and discovering new sights and places of interest. Recently, I came across an old single-lane bridge over the Salmon River. Although it was raining and snowing simultaneously, which made it quite miserable, it was a great discovery. I plan to visit again when the weather is warmer so I can walk around and explore the area more.

The sun calendar will catch up with Mother Nature soon; I am confident warm weather is quickly approaching!

What is on your agenda this week?

Thanks for visiting, Connie 🙂

3 thoughts on “March 31 to April 6, 2024

  1. Sterling work this week Connie. Love the easter treats and especially the chicks in the eggs, so fun, as is Mr. Sockmonkey, what a prankster! Shawshank was a great choice for your movie scene, Hope you brought the Orchid home as well as the Prayer plant. I’m going to have to find one of those, they sound amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jane. The Prayer plant is home and doing well…the orchid stayed safely tucked away at the garden centre…I have killed too many to wreak havoc on another poor, unsuspecting beauty, but I enjoy them when I am out and about!

      Have a great week! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that first Easter quote, Connie!

    I really enjoy the prayer plant. I have one that is at least 40 years old (easy to take cuttings from)! I don’t have it anymore, actually, it now lives very happily with my son and fam. Did you know that it also flowers? Very cool plant!

    I’ve watched the ‘The Shawshank Redemption’ a couple of times…very good movie! I am off to check out the link. 🙂 

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.